One book finished, on to the next…

Two days ago we finished Incarceron by Catherine Fisher. Two of us really loved it, one didn’t finish, and I had tired of it by the end. I loved the way Fisher used language. The book was ripe with rich vocabulary words, making me giddy that my girls were being introduced to these “$5000” words. The mini narratives that prefaced each chapter heightened the suspense by doling out little nuggets of information about the plot. With a third of the novel done, I was ready for it to end. I wanted Claudia to help Finn escape this otherworldly prison and Finn to aid Claudia in her desire to elude the arranged marriage to the jugheaded Caspar. Of course that wasn’t going to happen at the end because book two, Sapphique, continues the story. I will not be reading that one. My girls want to read the next one and I applaud that!

Our next novel is Romiette and Julio by Sharon Draper. This story is in the tradition of Shakespeare’s, Romeo and Juliet. We have read the first 10 chapters and the girls are excited. I am too!

I just finished Meg Cabot’s, Abandon, based on the Greek tragedy of Hades and Persephone. The novel kept me interested because I wanted to understand the connection between Pierce and John. Why he was so taken with her and she with him other than an overwhelming desire to kiss? The story reminded me of Twilight: Pierce’s (like Bella’s) clumsiness and penchant for getting into trouble, Pierce’s popularity with her school mates (like Bella’s), John’s brooding and seeming dislike of Pierce (like Edward)…I could go on. Even though the novel held me I felt sort of manipulated by the author. Like was is trying to draw out the story to get trilogy for a story that could have been finished in one book. Of course after the genius of J.K. Rowling, authors and publishing houses have taken notice that the money is in the series. Perhaps they knew this before, but it is all the rage now. I have nothing against series, but  as the reader  I want more authenticity. If the story warrants multiple books so be it, just don’t drag it out for the sake of it. I fear this was the same for Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games.  I finished that one this week also. I loved the first story, but felt like it could have been brought to an end at the first novel with another hundred pages. I asked one of my girls how she liked the last two books. She reported disappointment in Catching Fire and Mockingjay. I would rather read one good novel than a series where I only liked the first one.

 

Leave a Reply

