Delicious Reading

Since the birth and death of my last reading group, I have been longing to begin again. This summer has offered me another chance. I am reading with my daughter and two of her friends, all 13 year olds. We are about one-third of the way through Incarceron by Catherine Fisher, plucked as a choice from my daughter’s summer reading list. I have to resist teaching them directly so they won’t dismiss our time together as another boring class. In addition to pure reading, I am trying to hone their writing skills by asking them to write a book review at the end. As we read along, I have asked them to write little responses to anything interesting they encounter while reading. Perhaps we will continue into the fall.

I continue reading on my own of course now delving into the science fiction/fantasy genre. There isn’t much diversity there. I just picked up Octavia Butler’s Parable of the Sower and Fledgling as I am eager to see how she weaves in race. I am practically giddy with all this delicious reading.

Leave a Reply

