The End?

Tomorrow marks the finale of my student teaching! I have had a grand time teaching and learning. The experience has been much more than I could have ever imagined. I have learned that the teacher is a sort of architect of the learning community. Parker Palmer’s, The Courage to Teach, outlines it best when he talks about the teacher extending hospitality to every student. At least this is the ideal. He also writes about the subject-centered class room in lieu of the student-centered or teacher-centered one. In this way, the subject is elevated and we, the teacher and students, marvel at all we are exploring, i.e. reading, mathematics, science, social studies, and the arts.

I don’t have any jobs lined up, unfortunately. Times are hard for my new profession. I am ready and brimming to the top with passion and skill, but I have no foreseeable place to unleash it. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

