The Last Hoop

In about a month, I will begin to jump through the last required hoop before I graduate and be eligible to teach elementary school. I call it “the last hoop” but it is much more than that. It will be my last experience as a teacher trainee or apprentice. After that, I will be on my own. I want to maximize my learning potential so I am beginning a couple of weeks early. Another reason for this eagerness is the get an edge and prove myself as worthy of a consideration for employment, especially with so many teachers out of work.

I’ve met my cooperating teacher, paraprofessional (kindergarten), and students. I took the initiative and set up a meeting between us in November. I am confident that I will do a great job as informed by my last field experience. I am a little frightened about the prospect of not getting a job. When that thought crops up, I try to put it aside. I am hoping that hard work, faith, and fate will work together to make this go as planned. Teaching is my calling, my area of service to the world. I know I can make a difference, especially at this time of heated debate about education.

Leave a Reply

