Looking Back on 2009

This year, 2009, has been a veritable whirlwind for me. My sound track for the beginning of the year could have been, “I’m Coming Out.” As stocks plunged, banks failed, and the economy tanked, I was able to quit my dead end job and engage in some vocational discernment while devoting my time to writing and tending to home and hearth.  Midway through the year, I decided to put writing on the back burner and pursue my teaching credentials and a Master of Arts in Teaching. Then I signed up to be a substitute teacher to get some experience. The extra money was nice too! By 8 months into the year, I was a substitute teacher by day and a student by night. I am doing extremely well in school while gaining a lot of “on the ground” practical experience as a substitute. This semester begins the first of my student teaching experiences, but these are (sadly) unpaid, in money at least. I will be paid in the knowledge I gain from my mentors.

My daughter transitioned well into middle school and my stepson has graduated from the United States Military Academy at West Point. The husband and I have much to be thankful for. I am still chewing on ideas for my novel and writing when I can get the time and mindspace. My gut tells me to write my memoirs first. I feel like I won’t be able to write that novel until I get my story out. We will see.

In 2010, I want to continue to be present in every moment as I pledged to be in 2009. I want to focus on all that is abundantly wonderful in my life. I want to spend more time with extended family. I want to decrease the admonishments in my communication with my daughter and increase the positive speech. It would be nice to find a church for us to attend.

I’m sure my “want list” will grow longer. I could add to that significant health care reform, education reform, and an end to the war in Afghanistan.

Leave a Reply

