Three Christmas Vacation Sees

popcorn-reelThe studios have cooked up many movies that have piqued my interest: Marley & Me, Doubt, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and The Tale of Desperaux, to name a few. This past weekend was my veg on the couch recover from migraine time. I was able to fit in four movies between migraine pain, all compliments of Netflix.

The Dark Night

I was about 4 months late in seeing this one, and I’m glad I didn’t spend my $10.00. Whoa, Hey! Pipe down all you The Dark Night fans. I respect your love for this movie that racked in over 500 million at the box office. The plot didn’t pull me in and most of the characters weren’t that interesting. The movie gained most of its momentum from the Joker played masterfully by the late Heath Ledger. He seemed to embody all the evil, pain, and hurt necessary to play this grisly character. The Joker is all the more interesting because of Heath Ledger’s untimely death and the controversy surrounding it. Was Batman Begins any better? I didn’t see it.

This Christmas

If you come from a big family, you will probably appreciate this flick.  It is the story of another Christmas of the Whitfield family led by the matriarch (Loretta Devine), affectionately called “Ma’Dear.” This clan has the usual laundry list of problems, sibling rivalry, secrets, separation, adultery, etc. Though the problems are real, the movie resolves them all just in time for Christmas and the movie’s end. It’s a heart warmer and high on my list of recommendations.

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter

This made for TV drama was based on Kim Edwards’ bestselling book.  I did the ugly cry as it tugged at my heart strings. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to find out that my stillborn daughter had actually been given away by my husband because she had downs syndrome. Now I want to read the book! There are no neat, simple fixes here.

Mrs. Palfrey at Claremont

Oh, I so enjoyed this movie the best of all. It is definitely the first of the four on my list. It tells the sweet story of the budding friendship between the elderly Mrs. Palfrey and the young, starving writer, Ludvig Mayer. Mrs. Palfrey, though neglected by her family, finds many kindred spirits at the Claremont.

Leave a Reply

