The Secret Life of Bees

My husband and I managed to catch a movie after church today. Our daughter was otherwise occupied with a Girl Scout activity so he wisked me away to AMC theatres to see The Secret Life of Bees movie based on the novel by Sue Monk Kidd. It is rare for movies to do great books justice, but this one was right on point. I still recommend reading the book because the language is so lyrical and poetic. However, the movie really made it come alive. It was gratifying to see a movie with so many black actresses. It seems that Jennifer Hudson has been typecast into the same sort of role where she is downtrodden and abused by forces beyond her control. Maybe one day she will be liberated from playing the same character. The movie certainly pulled at my heartstrings!

4 thoughts on “The Secret Life of Bees

  1. My wife saw it on Saturday (I watched the toddler to give her a break) and loved it as well. Before she saw it she suspected I wouldn’t like it as it sounded like too much of a ‘chick flick,’ but afterwards she wasn’t as sure. I’ll keep an eye out for an opportunity to see it.

    (For the record, I don’t have the stereotypical male allergy to emotional dramas with strong female characters. Just ones that are too formulaic or too thick on the emotional manipulation. Steel Magnolias really worked for me. The Hours really worked for me. The Spitfire Grill really didn’t. Anna says Bees is in the first category, and I believe her.) >8->

  2. My husband liked it too. He confirmed that it was a “chick flick” but found some meaningful points of contact 🙂 I always tell him that men are more emotional than women. You all express it in different ways.

    Did your wife read the book? It is glorious.

  3. I’m so glad to read a good review on this. I had been trying to read it in time to see the movie on opening day and I stopped because I got busy with the end of the school semester. Anyway, I only heard one review (by mistake). I have been purposely trying not to get caught up in other opinions or hear the ending or something by mistake. The one thing I heard was that the movie didn’t do the book justice. But, I expect that from most movies because they are forced to cram so much into about 2 hours. Anyway, I avoided hearing or reading reviews also because I love the book and I didn’t want to be disappointed by the movie especially since I love all the actresses in it. I will be finished reading by the end of the night and probably see the movie this weekend. Can’t wait! Thanks for posting =o)

  4. I sneaked off by myself on Saturday and saw this movie for fear my husband will talk me into watching something else. I thought it was good. I was very impressed with Alica Keyes.

Leave a Reply

